Skip to main content



What Is Written Here Is Not Investment Advice. It has been published on this page to explain the terminology used with explanations about the stock market, digital currencies, economy, finance and investment instruments.


 What is the FED and how does it work?

The FED, or the Federal Reserve System, is the central bank of the United States. It was created by Congress in 1913 to provide a stable and flexible monetary and financial system for the country. The FED has three main functions: conducting monetary policy, supervising and regulating banks, and providing financial services to the government and other institutions.

Monetary policy is the FED's most important function. It refers to the actions that the FED takes to influence the availability and cost of money and credit in the economy. The FED's main tool for monetary policy is setting the target for the federal funds rate, which is the interest rate that banks charge each other for overnight loans. By raising or lowering this rate, the FED can affect the interest rates on various loans and securities, such as mortgages, car loans, bonds, and stocks. The FED's goal is to keep inflation low and stable, and to promote maximum employment and economic growth.

The FED also supervises and regulates banks and other financial institutions to ensure their safety and soundness, and to protect consumers from unfair or deceptive practices. The FED sets capital requirements, conducts examinations, enforces laws and regulations, and monitors risks in the financial system. The FED also acts as a lender of last resort, providing emergency loans to banks or other institutions that are in financial distress.

The FED also provides financial services to the government and other institutions. The FED acts as the fiscal agent of the U.S. Treasury, meaning that it issues, transfers, and redeems Treasury securities, such as bills, notes, and bonds. The FED also manages the Treasury's bank accounts and payments systems. The FED also operates Fedwire, which is a large-value electronic payment system that allows banks and other institutions to transfer funds quickly and securely. The FED also distributes currency and coin to banks and processes checks and electronic payments.

The FED is composed of several parts: the Board of Governors, the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), 12 regional Federal Reserve Banks, and thousands of member banks. The Board of Governors is a seven-member board appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Board sets general policies for the FED and oversees its operations. The FOMC is a 12-member committee consisting of the Board members and five presidents of regional Federal Reserve Banks. The FOMC makes decisions on monetary policy and sets the target for the federal funds rate. The regional Federal Reserve Banks are located in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco. They carry out the FED's functions in their respective districts and represent the interests of their local communities. The member banks are commercial banks that hold stock in their regional Federal Reserve Banks and have access to their services.

The FED is an independent institution within the government. It does not receive funding from Congress or from taxes. Instead, it earns income from its assets, such as Treasury securities and loans to banks. After paying its expenses and dividends to member banks, it transfers its surplus to the Treasury.

The FED plays a vital role in maintaining a stable and prosperous economy for the United States. By conducting monetary policy, supervising and regulating banks, and providing financial services, it helps foster a healthy financial system that supports economic growth and well-being.


You can find all explanations about the economy on our page.


Finance&Exchange&Digital Money

Economics Education

Most Wanted

Tüm Haberler

Piyasalara Genel Bakış

Kripto Para Analiz ve Görüşleri

Döviz Analiz ve Görüşleri